Mac Miller : 100 Grand Kids (Official Music Video)

This video may have dropped nearly 9 months ago, but it was easily one of the best music videos of 2015 in my opinion.  Mac Miller has been in the rap game for quite sometime now, and like wine, he is only getting better.  He has come a long way from being easy mac with the cheesy raps.  To be honest, I was far from a Mac Miller fan when I first heard him in 2012.  Since then, he has really matured as an artist and made a lane for himself.  100 Grand Kids is track straight off his most recent album, GO:OD AM.

The video starts off with Mac Miller’s face rapping as the moon, to what we can only assume is a children’s play of Romeo & Juliet.  The juxtaposition of Mac rapping some questionable lyrics with a bunch of school kids is an interesting concept.  It is hard to not Mac after seeing how genuinely happy he is when filming with his posse of child actors.

When I first saw this video, I was not a fan.  I was annoyed by the play and thought it was a lame video… I misjudged this video terribly.  The first and second part of this track might as well be two totally different tracks but he executed it perfectly.

I am a huge fan of this song because of how the beat seamlessly transitions into one of the hardest verses of 2016.  It also pays homage to P Diddy & The Bad Boy : Bad Boy For Life (one of my favorite tracks of all time).  It transitions with Mac Miller leaving the theatre to the school parking.  Once in the parking lot, Mac doesn’t hold anything back.

The damp parking lot with the lighting makes an ominous vibe followed by some mad inspiration bars.  Whats more classic than an old school car hooked up on some crazy hydraulic lifts?  For anyone out there chasing their dream, its hard to not relate to this track.  My favorite, stand out bars were:

“Cause fools worried about a wave, I’m a NAVY seal
Come with me, I can make your life change for real
Always had a dream of stuntin’
It ain’t nothing unless we runnin’ sh**
Just a young motherf***** with a plan
Thought I was the man”

Be sure to check out Mac Miller’s other tracks here:

Website: http://www.haveagoodam.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/MacMiller
Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/larryfisherman

 

 

Leave a Reply

